Just Do It

My weight is up this morning. It’s the highest it has been for a while. 163lbs. I know exactly why it’s up. I’ve just been on a weeks holiday with my parents. Although i’ve been pretty active this week I have eaten lots of good food and had my fair share of alcohol. I can’t deny that I didn’t enjoy myself, however i’m now paying for it.

It is difficult to get back on plan however after a full week of eating and drinking what I like. It makes me feel tired and lazy and I feel like now I have an even steeper hill to climb. How do I motivate myself? Any suggestions are more than welcome.

We all know the benefits losing weight and eating healthy. They are drummed into us. Lower blood pressure, reduced risk of heart disease, reduced risk of cancer, improved function of our digestive system, reduced risk of diabetes etc etc etc. What does this all really mean though? I’ve never experience any of these things and for me at 27 they seem like diseases that are wayyyyyy in my future. However, I as I said I spent time with my parents this week and they are both almost in their 60s. My dad likes to keep fit but my mum is the complete opposite. She is overweight and has to take multiple pills per day. She struggles in fact to walk up a flight of stairs. I was thinking about this a lot actually. I do not want to be like that when i’m 60. Growing old really scares me and so this fear motivates me. I do want to do everything I can while I can to prevent any number of diseases if I can.

I do also have more “selfish”, “self involved” “cosmetic” reasons for losing weight. I have a number of weddings to attend over summer and also weddings next summer, and potentially a holiday to America in October. I want to look good for these things. I want to be able to wear a bikini and feel confident. I guess this is my short term motivation.

Goals for the next week:

  • Lose 2 pounds
  • 15 syns per day
  • Run 4 times
  • Work out 6 times
  • Drink 2L of water per day
  • 10000 steps per day

I’m doing this!

Leave a Reply

