January Recap and February Goals 

I’ve said this before but where has January gone? It has literally vanished for me. I started off the new year working. I didn’t have much time off during the festive period and rather than feeling refreshed for the new year I actually felt quite run down and tired. I didn’t have much “new year new me” spirit. However, towards the end of the month I’ve had a bit more time off and have been able to focus more on my health and fitness goals. I also had quite an important exam last week which again meant that health and fitness goals were shelved slightly until my exam was done. 

Exercise 

This month I have run approx 30 miles. Which is really not much but it is better than my December mileage! I say approx because I’ve done a few treadmill runs which have not been counted on my map my run profile. I also did a few random Kayla BBG workouts and a few fitstar workouts. I have managed to workout on average 3-4 times per week which is progress for me. As I said, towards the end of last year I really let my exercise routine slide so I’m pleased with the progress I’ve made in January alone. I need to build on this in February and focus on planning workouts rather than random ones. 

Eating

I have been known in the past to be a bit “all or nothing” so this year I decided instead of changing everything at once I would make small monthly goals. My only eating goal this month was to track my food. I needed to see how much I am actually eating. I would consider myself a fairly healthy eater but when you see it on paper it is an eye opener. I have more unhealthy/off plan days than I should, I drink more wine/prosecco I than I should and there are a lot of unnecessary hidden snack calories that really add up. I’ve been trying to use a syn tracker, as my aim is to follow slimming world. This month was purely about tracking and making myself aware of what I’m eating and I feel I’ve achieved this.

Numbers

In terms of my weight I’m pretty much the same this month. My weight went up in the middle couple of weeks I think because of exam stress. Then in the last week it has gone down again by 2 pounds. I don’t see that as a loss but more a natural fluctuation. I was trying not to focus too much on the scale this month and look more at my habits and think about how I can change them. 

Mood

I’ve definitely had the January blues this month. I felt really low the week before my exam which I guess is natural. I feel at the moment that my life is a constant cycle of exams and portfolio and training. I’ve been getting bogged down with it all but big changes will be happening come August so I’m trying to focus on that. I know too, that I haven’t had much time off work over the last few months but in the coming weeks I will be making up for that. I’ve also started reading a Mindfulness self help book so I will see where that takes me.

Spirituality 

I managed to get to mass once this month which is actually a big achievement for me because of my shifts. I’m not exactly certain what I believe in but I do know that I really appreciate an hour in church thinking and praying and not looking at my phone. I come out feeling positive and that can only be a good thing.

Relationships

Things are really good wth my boyfriend. They always are to be honest. He always makes me laugh and I really need that when I’m feeling low. I feel however I’ve been so preoccupied with studying recently that I need to do something nice for him in Feb and make more time for us. Maybe a couple of nice date nights need planning 😉

Things have been a bit stressful however with family. There have been a lot of arguments and disagreements that I just try to stay out of. I find that there is a lot of negativity that I just don’t want in my life. I’m trying to be supportive for those who need it but stay out of the arguments. 

In summary, January has been good and bad. I have made some personal progress but have had some tough days and stressful days. In February I want to build on my progres! 

February Goals

Exercise

  • Run 3 times per week
  • Run 50 miles
  • Workout 4-5 times per week

Eating

  • Stick within my syn allowance
  • Continue to track food
  • Track alcohol units

Numbers

  • I want to break through the 154 barrier!! 

Mood

  • Continue reading my Mindfulness book
  • Spend less time on social media and more time on hobbies

Spirituality

  • Go to mass 

Relationships 

  • Make plans to see friends
  • Plan a couple of date nights 

That should be enough to keep me busy. 

Leave a Reply

