One foot in front of the other

I regularly read a few healthy living/weight loss/running blogs out there. In fact i’ve read them for a number of years. I’ve watched some bloggers take it to the next level and make blogging a full time job! I’m not looking to do that but after  reading for a number of years, I wondered if blogging might help me to reach some of my personal goals. I’m not really sure what type of blog I would like this to be or how often I would like to post etc, but to be honest I don’t think that really matters. I don’t think it needs to fit into a certain category. It just needs to be a place where I can track my progress, write about how I feel, share my success and my struggles and hopefully a place where I can be me.

I decided to call it “One foot in front of the other” because this is the phrase that usually runs through my head towards the end of a long run. When it starts to get tough I tell myself that all I need to do is put one foot in front of the other and I will get to the end. This has really helped me in the 3 marathons I have run. Instead of thinking in miles or time I break it down and think of it as just one step at a time. Another reason for naming it such is that I feel for any change to happen, lots of baby steps need to be taken to achieve that goal or change.

My hope is that I can track my baby steps here and really see the progress i’m making. I guess the main thing I will probably discuss is health and fitness because my ultimate goal is to lose a bit of weight to get fit. However,  I do have lots of other goals in my life such as worrying less, being more confident and being happy which I will hopefully write about too.

I should tell you a little about myself too. I’m currently 27 and live in the UK. I work full time and live with my boyfriend. I like to run but i’m not sure I would say i’m good at it. I’ve never been technically overweight but it has fluctuated through the years. When I was younger and at school I really struggled with my body image I practised a lot of restrictive and unhealthy behaviours. I lost a lot of weight but again was never technically underweight. When I reached uni, I found that I lost my routine and I didn’t have as much time to exercise and I had to be a bit more flexible. Since then i’ve been about the same weight give or take 5-7 pounds. I would say i’m your average 27 year old female. I’m a UK size 10-12. I try to be healthy most of the time but I equally like to enjoy myself. I have a much healthier relationship with food and exercise now and I would like it to stay that way. Every so often I have the urge to go on some crazy diet but it usually doesn’t last long.

As I said, i’m not exactly sure what direction this will go in or how successful I will be as a writer but it’s all part of the journey.

Leave a Reply

